Acadia National Park: Cadillac Mountain South Ridge Trail

Today was our first full day in ANP, and I knew my hiking time might be a little limited on this trip. After waking up at 5:15 this morning, I decided to use the early daylight to my advantage. I drove just down the road to a trailhead and hiked the 7-mile round trip to the top of Cadillac Mountain (the highest point in ANP, 1532′). I decided to hike in my new Merrell Mix Master sandals, since I would most likely encounter many puddles from yesterday’s deluge.

The bald mountains give this trail an alpine feel with 360-degree views. The lack of trees also created some adventure, since the wind attempted to knock me off course a few times. I maintained a tourist’s pace on the climb up the mountain, stopping regularly for pictures. With all my sightseeing breaks, the first 3.5 miles took me about an hour and a half. The return trip took just under an hour.

You could just drive to the top, but where’s the fun in that?

Leave a Reply

