This one’s for the Scouts

Tonight I had a chance to talk to Boy Scout Troop 160 in Leesport PA. They are preparing for a fall backpack, and for many of the boys, this will be their first overnight trip. I’m writing this post mainly for them, but everyone is more than welcome to use the info presented here.

Anyone who attended tonight’s meeting got to (or HAD to) listen to me talk about ultralight backpacking. I think a lot of my stuff looked a little alien to some of the attendees, but they all hung in there and asked a lot of good questions (even though I ran VERY long… Sorry). I ran out of printer ink, so I wasn’t able to make copies of my handout for you. If you want a copy, you can get it HERE. Thanks for having me!

Along the way, I showed you a lot of things. Here’s a list of some of them:

 

I mentioned a few books during my talk, so I’ll list those, too.

  • A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson
  • The Last Englishmanby Keith Foskett
  • The Ultimate Hiker’s Gear Guide: Tools & Techniques to Hit the Trail by Andrew Skurka
  • Ultralight Backpackin’ Tips: 153 Amazing & Inexpensive Tips for Extremely Lightweight Camping by Mike Clelland
  • I Hike by Lawton Grintner

If you’re interested in learning more, I’m posting a few interesting videos that can get you started below:

If anyone has any questions, please ask!

Leave a Reply

