Sunfish Pond & Mount Tammany Loop

20140418-093511.jpgThis past Thursday, I decided to take a spur-of-the-moment hike, but I didn’t know where I wanted to go. The Pinnacle & Pulpit Loop is nice, but it seems to be all I do anymore. I needed a change. After a lot of annoyed googling, it dawned on me that I hadn’t hiked in New Jersey recently.

Sunfish Pond & Mt. Tammany can both be hiked together via several different out-and-back and loop hikes. My hike didn’t follow any of the exact routes covered at the previous link, so I’ll try my best to explain it to you. I forgot to take GPS readings, so everything will be “ballpark” numbers.

20140421-092133.jpg

I parked at Dunnfield Creek, which is just off of I-80 near the PA/NJ border (Trailhead GPS Coordinates: 40.974455,-75.125399). This lot can hold at least 20 cars, and there are other lots in the vicinity as well. This is a popular area to hike, so it could be busy on weekends with nice weather.  From there, I headed north on the Appalachian Trail. The trail is a slow, steady 1000 foot climb almost all the way to Sunfish Pond. There were quite a few sections that were very rocky, and many of the rocks were loose. This made for some precarious footing at times. I only twisted my ankle one time, which is pretty good for me. 3.7 miles later, I arrived at Sunfish Pond. I continued to follow the AT along the edge of pond, which required some minor scrambling over and around large rocks. As the AT rounded the far side of the pond, I reached a trail intersection with a sign for the Turquoise Trail, onto which I turned.

The Turquoise Trail only had one or 2 decent blazes before they vanished altogether. The visible footpath disappeared not long after that. I knew that my next goal, the Sunfish Fire Road, was just at the top of the near ridge, so I did a little bushwhacking and found the road pretty easily. I turned right on the road, which paralleled the far shore of Sunfish pond and spit me out at an intersection with the AT and the Dunnfield Hollow Trail.

The Dunnfield Hollow trail was rocky and wet, requiring no less than 5 nearly knee-deep crossings of the Dunnfield Creek. I imagine that the recent rainfall and snow melt made the creek deeper than normal, so summer crossings are probably fairly shallow. Just before I turned off onto the Blue Dot Trail, I encountered a major washout. This was an inconvenience, but it was still passable. There were also stone steps constructed as a bypass, but I didn’t feel that I needed them.

20140421-092114.jpg

After spending a few miles on the Dunnfield Hollow Trail, I hung a left on the Blue Dot Trail. This rocky trail climbed 1250 feet in 2.5 miles before reaching Indian Head Vista at the top of Mt. Tammany. The vista had some pretty great views of the Delaware River, Mount Minsi, and the much less beautiful I-80. At the vista, I encountered a large group of tourists who advised me not to descend via the Red Dot Trail because it was very steep and dangerous. I took the Red Dot Trail anyway.

20140421-092103.jpg

The Red Dot Trail descended 1250 feet in 1.5 miles. The tourists weren’t wrong. It was a little tricky to negotiate at times, but I didn’t end up having any real trouble. The trail ended right back where I started, at the Dunnfield parking lot. All in all, I spent just under 4 hours on the trail. I’m guessing I covered between 10 and 11 miles. It was a pretty great day!

Leave a Reply

