My “Weekend”

After 8 consecutive nights on 3rd shift (one of which being 16 hours long, and another 12 hours long), I wasn’t particularly keen on the idea of spending my only day off in bed. I got home from work around 7:30 AM, took a 2.5-hour power nap, and then hit the trail.

I decided I’d just do a quick 8.5 mile loop, which utilizes an AT section and 2 blue-blazed trails. This takes you to Pulpit Rock and The Pinnacle vistas (arguably the two best vistas on the entire PA section of the Appalachian Trail). I’ve done it a million times, and I expected to be done in 2.5 hours.

My timeframe didn’t exactly hold out, but I still had a really enjoyable hike. I kept getting drawn into conversations with thru-hikers and day hikers, which slowed my pace considerably (the hike took an extra 1.5 hours). I didn’t mind the slow downs, though. It was nice to interact with people on the trail and enjoy some lazy time chatting at sun-drenched vistas. I hadn’t really seen the sun in over a week, so the extra time outside was welcome. This little loop rarely disappoints.

My “Weekend” is over now. On to 6 more days of work (at least three of which will be 12-hour shifts). Maybe next “weekend” will be even better!

Leave a Reply

