A Very Quick Hike to Dan’s Pulpit

Wednesday morning, I came right home and hit the sack after my last night of 3rd shift. I fell asleep around 8AM and woke up around 10AM, packed a lunch, and hopped in the car. My dog Pickle and I headed for the Appalachian Trail crossing at Hawk Mountain Road near Eckville, PA. The bottom part of the trail was moderately rocky, but the climb to the ridge was relatively smooth. Trying to hike after 2 consecutive leg workouts at the gym was probably a mistake. I was pretty sore and my quads were burning as I worked my way up the hill. They trail on the ridge alternated between very rocky and very smooth, with the majority of the hiking falling somewhere in the middle. Dan’s Pulpit is a modest little vista, and the views were hazy. I still enjoyed my hike though! This hike took be about 2 hours, including a little lunch break at the vista.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

