Purple Rain Adventure Skirts

Until this year, I probably would have laughed at the idea of wearing a skirt. I’m a big, burly man, after all! After hearing lots of good things from hiking friends (including other men), I decided to give skirts a more serious look. 

 

My friends Allison and Liz in their Purple Rain Skirts. Photo courtesy of trailtosummit.com.

 
Purple Rain Adventure Skirts was suggested by friends, so I took to the inter-webs to place an order. Color and fabric options vary based on availability (mine is stretchy and black), but the basic design is constant. The skirts have a simple, yoga-style waistband with pockets on either side. The design is about as simple as it gets.

After getting some input from Purple Rain, I settled on a size “M/L”. I usually fall between a 36″ and 38″ waist in jeans, and the waistband on the skirt fit pretty well. The actual skirt part was a bit tighter than I would have liked, but that was because of my enormous tree-trunk thighs. Since men’s and women’s sizes aren’t really interchangeable, I don’t consider this a flaw in the product. If anything, it was more like mild misuse on my part!
I’ve been hiking in this skirt for a few months now, and I love it. It helps keeps my undercarriage cool and dry in hot weather, but can be paired with running tights or base layers for use in the winter. The skirt also provides an improved range of motion over pants or shorts. You don’t have to worry about splitting your pants when you’re wearing a skirt! This product also makes potty breaks simpler, especially if you decide to go commando!

 

Leg Selfie! Wearing my Purple Rain Skirt with running tights.

 
All-in-all, this is a great product. If you’re a man, be sure to ask questions about the sizing, and you’ll be fine. The biggest question is: Are you man enough to hike in a skirt? 

Disclosure: I purchased this product at full price with my own funds. I was not asked nor obligated to write this review, and all opinions contained here are my own. 

Leave a Reply

